Custom Search


Bihar runs short of IAS as bureaucrats retire in heap

Patna,(BiharTimes): Four chief secretary rank officers, including the present chief secretary Anup Mukherjee and several other senior IAS will be retiring in the next four months causing quite a few vacancies at the top. Bihar is already short of IAS and IPS officers.

The 1974 rank officers, S P Keshav, Member, Board of Revenue, S Siddhu, Commissioner, Departmental Inquiry and Pancham Lal, Principal Secretary, Parliamentary Affairs––all in the rank of Chief Secretary––will retire on August 31 next while Anup Mukherjee will retire a month later on September 30.

Apart from them three 1995 batch officers are also retiring soon. They are Daya Shankar Pandey, who is holding the dual charges of divisional commissioners of Bhagalpur and Munger Divisions. He is due to retire on June 30.

Arun Chandra Singh, currently holding the post of Special Secretary in Rural Works Department, will also retire on June 30 so will the divisional commissioner of Darbhanga, Govind N Akhauri.
The divisional commissioner of Saran, Indrasen Singh, will retire in July this year.

It needs to be recalled that the DMs of Patna, Saharsa, Madhepura, and East Champaran are from non-Bihar cadres. Till a couple of days back even the Gopalganj district magistrate, Pankaj Kumar Pal, was from a non-Bihar cadre. However, he was transferred after the killing of a doctor in the jail.

According to reports 43 Bihar cadre senior IAS officials are on Central deputation. This is compounding the problem and a large number of IAS officials had to hold dual charges. Several departments including disaster management, tourism, land revenue and reforms, registrar cooperatives societies, Bihar education project do not have a full fledged secretaries





traffic analytics