Custom Search


Bihar journalist appointed member Press Council

A senior Patna based journalist Arun Kumar has been appointed as a Member of the Press Council of India, - the apex body for preserving the freedom of the press and maintaining and improving standards of press in India. Kumar is also Member National Executive Committee, Indian Journalists Union (IJU), General Secretary, BWJU and President, The Times Of India Newspaper Employees Union (TOINEU) .

The Government of India issued a notification constituting the 11th Term of Press Council of India on Wednesday (June 15). It will have a term of three years from the date of notification.

Arun Kumar is a senior journalist of more than 25 years of professional standing to his credit. He started his career with The New Republic, Ranchi, and after serving in Udit Vani, Jamshedpur, Prabhat Khabar Ranchi, Janshakti , Patna, Nav Bharat Times, Patna, is presently associated with The Times Of India, Patna, since 1988.

He has been actively associated with the BWJU for last two decades. Presently, he is its General Secretary. He was elected as Member, National Executive Committee (NEC) of Indian Journalists Union for the successive second term in Sirsa, Haryana, in 2007.

He happens to be third from the journalist fraternity of Bihar who has made their entry into the Press Council of India. Prior to him, Shibindra Narain (‘Jyotsna’) was PCI member from the Editors of Indian Languages Newspapers category during the period October 14, 1991 to August 9, 1992. From “Working Journalists other than editor” category Mewalal Shastri of The Searchlight, Patna, was PCI member from February28, 1979 to February 27, 1982. Incidentally, Shastri also happened to be the General Secretary of BWJU.

Noted Hindi author and Rajya Sabha MP, Ganga Sharan Sinha (Bihar) was also PCI member as nominee of Chairman, Rajya Sabha, between November16,1966 to December 31,1969. George Fernandes was also the member of PCI for two terms, when he represented Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat, as nominee of Speaker, Lok Sabha. His tenure was from 1980 to February 27, 1982 and 1982-December 31, 1984.

K.K. Tewary, MP, has also been PCI member as nominee of Speaker Lok Sabha from July 9, 1985 to May 12, 1986. Yet another Lok Sabha member D.P. Yadav has also been PCI member from September 28, 1988 to November 27, 1989 as nominee of Speaker, Lok Sabha.

Noted editor, M J Akbar was member of PCI in his capacity as MP from Kishanganj, Bihar, as nominee of Speaker Lok Sabha from March 21, 1990 to March 11, 1991 till the dissolution of the 9th Lok Sabha.

Yet another Lok Sabha MP, Ajit Kumar Mehta was PCI member from March8’1982-1982 as nominee of Speaker, Lok Sabha. If united Bihar is taken into account, Rajya Sabha MP, Yashwant Sinha has also been the PCI member as nominee of Chairman Rajya Sabha for two terms – from August11, 2006 to October 11, 2007 and from January 7, 2008 to May 18, 2009.



Congratulations Arun Kumar Jii. You have given more reason to be proud of Bihari’s journalism & journalists.

Ashoka Fellow



traffic analytics