Custom Search


Dwivedi, two others to become ADG

Patna,(BiharTimes): Names of three 1984 batch IPS officers––at present working as inspector-general (IG)––K S Dwivedi, Abhay Kumar Upadhyay and Rajesh Ranjan have been recommended for the promotion to the additional-director-general (ADG) of police.
While Dwivedi is holding the charge of IG (Operation) Ranjan is currently posted as IG (Modernisation) and Upadhyay is at present IG in the Special Vigilance Unit.

Dwivedi was the SP of Bhagalpur during the infamous 1989 riots and was even indicted by the Inquiry Commission later.

The vigilance department cleared the names of all the three officers as its clearance is mandatory for promotion. It needs to be recalled that the posts of ADG fell vacant after the promotion of four IPS officers of 1977 batch, including Abhayanand, to the rank of Director General (DG) on August 24.
A formal notification will be issued by the home (police) department after the proposal for promoting them has been sent to the chief minister’s secretariat for approval.

Interestingly, the three batch-mates of Abhayanand, a 1977 batch officer, have not yet been posted even after a week of their promotion to DG rank. An official notification about their elevation to the DG rank was issued by the home (police) department on August 24.

Thus Ashok Kumar Gupta, Shafi Alam and R C Sinha continue to discharge their duty as ADGs. Gupta is posted as ADG-cum-managing director of Bihar Police Building Construction Corporation, Alam is posted as ADG (Human Rights). Sinha is posted as ADG (Civil Defence).

Manoje Nath (1973 batch) and U S Dutt (1976 batch) are already in the DG rank and posted as DG (training) and DG (homeguards) respectively. Dutt is to retire on September 30, 2011. Thus one more post in the DG rank would fall vacant after his retirement.

V Narayanan (1977 batch) may thus be elevated to the rank of DG. His batchmate Arun Choudhary, who is on central deputation, was recently made special DG, Central Industrial Security Force. This despite the fact that Choudhary is the junior-most IPS officer of the 1977 batch in Bihar. There are total six posts in the DG-rank in Bihar.





traffic analytics