Election for Bihar BJP president postponed


Patna,(BiharTimes): Bharatiya Janata Party has postponed its election for the Bihar unit president scheduled for January 3-4 indefinitely.

In a Press release on Saturday the party’s state election official Suresh Rungta said the election will not take place on the said date due to unavoidable reasons. The next date will be announced later.

The current state president, Dr C P Thakur, who led the party to victory in the 2010 Assembly election, had already expressed his willingness to serve next term if the party asks him to do so.

Party insiders say that a number of other BJP leaders including Animal Husbandry and Fisheries Minister Giriraj Singh, an ardent supporter of Narendra Modi and a bitter critic of Nitish Kumar is emerging as a challenger to Dr Thakur. If he is really elected as the state president than the relationship between the two ruling partners of Bihar is likely to deteriorate further.

Giriraj recently criticised Nitish for not having even the basic courtesy to congratulate Narendra Modi after his election as the chief minister of Gujarat for the third time.

The BJP would decide on electing new state party chief after taking into account various aspects as the ties between the two allies partners are at very crucial stage.




comments powered by Disqus


traffic analytics