Yet another extension to Bhagalpur riots panel

Patna,(BiharTimes): The Bihar cabinet on Tuesday extended the term of inquiry commission, which is probing the 1989 Bhagalpur riots cases, for another year. The term is coming to an end on February 28. It is headed by Justice N N Singh, a retired judge of Patna High Court and was set up by the Nitish Kumar government in February 2006 to re-investigate certain cases of the 1989 communal riots. However, seven years have passed yet it has not come up with its final report.

The Lalu Yadav regime had in 1990 already appointed a three-member panel to probe the riots. It submitted its report in 1995 and it was debated in the Bihar Legislative Council. The then state government even took actions as per its recommendations. 
The then DGP, G P Dohare, was removed after the submission of the report for his role as IG (Bhagalpur) in 1989. The then SP of Bhagalpur, K S Dwivedi, did not get any posting as district SP till 1999 when the President’s rule was imposed by the then Vajpayee government. He is now ADG.
Yet several other measures were not implemented and many of the accused remained unpunished. 
Some of the victims did not get compensation money eiterh due to bureaucratic red tapism and some legal hurdles.

comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics