Assault on MLA: Arrest order against five junior doctors of Gaya


Patna,(BiharTimes): The Superintendent of Police, Gaya, Akhtar Hussain, on Wednesday ordered the arrest of five junior doctors of Anugrah Narain Magadh Medical College and Hospital (ANMMCH) in connection with three different criminal cases instituted against them.
The incident of violence took place on ANMMCH premises two years back.

The junior doctors are Suprakash Das, Antu Kumar, Shahabuddin, Vineet and Amil Ansari. The FIR includes several unnamed doctors too.

They had reportedly attacked Belaganj MLA Surindra Prasad Yadav who intervened on behalf of a Mahadalit woman patient, Meena Devi, who later died, allegedly due to the negligence. The MLA could be rescued only after his bodyguard fired in the air.

The rampaging junior doctors also inflicted bleeding injury on the bodyguard of the Sadar SDO, Paritosh Kumar, and set on fire a police van and wireless set on ANMMCH premises. The doctors are also alleged to have assaulted the deceased’s attendant.

The junior doctors had also lodged an FIR against the Belaganj MLA, who subsequently secured bail.

The SP told the media that the investigating officer has been directed to ensure the arrest of the junior doctors accused of causing violence on the hospital premises and obstruction in the performance of duty by the public servants, a non-bailable offence as per the provisions of the Indian Penal Code. The charges against the junior doctors include atrocity on the Schedule Castes. The IO has also been directed to identify the unnamed medical students who took part in the incidence of violence.

comments powered by Disqus


traffic analytics