Fifth phase seals the fate of political bigwigs of Bihar


Patna,(BiharTimes): The fifth phase of election in Bihar on May 7, in which seven parliamentary constituencies went to poll, is politically one of the most crucial one for several parties and their leaders.

Though the JD(U) won four, RJD two and BJP won in 2009 the result may be quite different in 2014. The election held on Wednesday sealed the fate of Lok Janshakti Party chief, Ram Vilas Paswan, former CM, Rabri Devi––who is fighting in place of her husband and RJD chief, Lalu Prasad, as after conviction in fodder scam case, he can not contest––former Union rural development minister Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, and BJP general secretary, Rajeev Pratap Rudy.

So in none of the phases so much was at stake for so many senior leaders of different parties. It is certainly much higher for Lalu and Ram Vilas Paswan. 

If Rabri loses it would not be good for Lalu as he has not lost to Rudy even once. In contrast Rabri Devi lost from Sonepur Assembly seat last time. If his party wins, but Rabri loses, it may in the long run weaken his grip on RJD. 

Ram Vilas too has lost from Hajipur in 2009. If he loses again it may not just be end of innings for him but will put a big question mark over BJP’s wisdom to ally with his party. After all the saffron party left as high as seven seats for the Lok Janshakti Party, while three for Upendra Kushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samata Party. These two parties together has not a single MLA in Bihar Assembly.

If Rudy loses it would mean that it is futile to challenge Lalu from this constituency as he lost in 2004 and 2009 elections too. 

comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics