NDA leads in Bihar


Patna, May 16 (IANS)(11:42)  The BJP-led NDA Friday took a clear lead in 30 of the 40 Bihar seats as officials counted the votes polled in the Lok Sabha elections.

The UPA led by the Congress-RJD combine in the state was ahead in seven seats and the ruling JD-U led in only three seats.

The BJP and its ally LJP and RLSP candidates forged ahead, among others, in Bhagalpur, Darbhanga, Gaya, Sheohar, Jamui, Hajipur, Araria.

The RJD led in Patliputra, Banka, the Congress led in Kishanganj, and the NCP in Katihar.

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan was ahead of JD-U candidate and sitting MP Ram Sunder Das in Hajipur, and his actor-turned-politician son Chirag Paswan led Bihar assembly Speaker and Janata Dal (United) candidate Udai Narain Choudhary in Jamui.

Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad's wife and former chief minister Rabri Devi trailed BJP candidate and former union minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Saran seat.

But Lalu's daughter Misha Bharti led BJP candidate Ram Kirpal Yadav in Pataliputra. 

JD-U president Sharad Yadav also trailed in Madhepura.

Lok Sabha Speaker and Congress candidate Meira Kumar trailed in her traditional Sasaram constituency, while former Kerala govenor and Congress candidate Nikhil Kumar trailed in Aurangabad.

Actor-turned-politician and BJP sitting MP from Patna Saheb seat Satrughan Sinha led by over 25,000 votes over Congress candidate Kunal Singh.

Former union minister and BJP candidate Shahnawaz Hussain led in Bhagalpur.

In 2009, the NDA won 32 seats - the BJP won 12 and the JD-U 20. Now both parties are contesting by themselves. The Congress won two seats and the RJD four seats. Two seats were won by Independents.

comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics