RJD cast(e) away as NaMo wave sweeps Rabri, Misa


Patna,(BiharTimes): The Verdict 2014 dealt a devastating blow to the Rashtriya Janata Dal, whose president, Lalu Prasad, could not ensure the victory of his own wife and daughter. 

Pre and and post-poll surveys as well as journalists who covered the election expected that the RJD-Congress alliance may manage to win about a dozen seats. The final tally is almost half––once again four and two for RJD and Congress and one for the Nationalist Congress Party. The first two parties got the same number of seats in 2009 even when they fought separately.

But what is of bigger concern for the RJD is that though Yadavs, along with the Muslims, were the mainstay of the party only two Yadav got elected on the party ticket. If Lalu Yadav was the lone Yadav to win last time, Pappu Yadav (Madhepura) and Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav (Banka) are the two RJD men, who managed to enter Lok Sabha. Neither Lalu Prasad’s wife, Rabri Devi (Saran), and daughter, Misa Bharati (Patliputra), could win. 

In contrast four Yadavs won on the BJP ticket. They are Ram Kripal Yadav (Patliputra), Nityanand Rai (Ujjairpur), Hukum Deo Narayan Yadav (Madhubani) and Om Prakash Yadav (Siwan).

If in 2009 the other three winning RJD MPs were Rajputs this time the situation has changed. The RJD canddiates and sitting MPs from Vaishali (Raghuvansh Prasad Singh), Maharajganj (Prabhunath Singh) and Jagtanand Singh (Buxar) have lost. 

In contrast only three of the eight Rajput candidates of the BJP lost. They are the sitting MPs of Purnea, Banka and Araria Uday Singh, Putul Kumari and Pradeep Singh respectively.

In fact Uday lost to Santosh Kushwaha of Janata Dal (United), who was till recently the BJP MLA from Baisi. He resigned from his party, got the JD(U) ticket and defeated his former partyman, Uday Singh. 

The lone Rajput candidate of the LJP, Rama Singh, defeated his casteman and veteran RJD leader, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh. 

comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics