Two-thirds of new Patna ward councillors are women

Patna,(BiharTimes): As high as 49 out of 75 ward councillors who got elected for Patna Municipal Corporation are women. The results for the election held on June 4,  was announced on Friday.

Patna is not alone; several other corporations––for example, Bhagalpur–– have overwhelming women presence than men, though only 50 per cent seats are reserved for them.

Interestingly, 58 new faces, have won. But that simply because the number of seats reserved, especially for women, have changed.

Those who won include Mahjabeen (ward number 52), the wife of outgoing Mayor Afzal Imam.

Madhu Chaurasiya, the wife of outgoing ward number 2 councillor Deepak Chaurasiya, Mala Sinha (ward 44) and Suchitra Singh (ward 22-B) are some other new prominent faces.  

The newly elected PMC councillors will elect Mayor on June 19. The post this time is reserved for women. As per the Bihar Municipal Act, 2007, candidate getting more than 50% of the votes polled is declared the Mayor/Chairperson.

The probable candidates include Mehjabeen, Madhu Chaurasiya, Mala Sinha and Suchitra Singh.


comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics