Deputy Mayor, former Mayor among losers in PMC poll

Patna,(BiharTimes): Deputy  Mayor, Amravati Devi, state president of RJD Women Cell Abha Lata, former Mayor Sanjay Kumar (ward 39) and BJP leader and sitting councillor Hemlata Verma are among the prominent losers in the Patna Municipal Corporation election.

Several sitting councillors suffered defeat. They are Roop Narayan Mehta, Mumtaz Jahan, Sanjay Singh and Dharmendu Munna.

Some candidates claimed that they lost because they had to contest from a new ward as their seat was reserved for a particular category (Women, EBCs or SCs).

However, others like former Mayor Sanjay Kumar lost temper after the declaration of results, which he alleged were manipulated. He was later asked to leave the counting centre on Boring Road.

Councillor of ward number 4 Abha Lata, who also could not retain her seat fighting from ward number 8, blamed caste politics, which was heavily tilted in favour of the upper castes.

Though apparently the election is not based on the party basis the BJP fielded Rita Rani from this ward.

However, councillor of ward number 5 Hemlata Verma of BJP couldn't retain her seat despite contesting from the same ward.

Councillor of ward number 41 Arjun Yadav fielded his wife Kiran Devi because the seat was reserved for women. But she lost.

However, Vinay Kumar Pappu (ward 28), Taruna Roy (ward 65) and Dhanraj Devi (ward 6) managed to retain their seats.

Total 1,008 candidates contested the PMC elections. Total 16.66 lakh voters exercised their franchise. Patna apart, polls were also held for eight other urban local bodies on the same date.


comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics