Gaya Police recover looted Rs 25 lakh, but no trace of Patna robbery

Patna,(BiharTimes): Even as the Patna Police are groping in the dark in the cash van loot incident in front of the Punjab National Bank’s Bagha Tila branch under Belchhi police station area on Monday Gaya Police on Tuesday showed rare promptness and recovered the looted Rs 25 lakh of Punjab National Bank  and nabbed all the five criminals within two hours of the daylight robbery.

The Gaya incident was second within 24 hours after the criminals escaped with Rs 60 lakh from the gate of PNB branch at Bagha Tila in Patna district.

Three persons––two private guards, Yogeshwar Das (50) and Suresh Kumar (55) besides SUV driver Anand Kumar (34) of Bihar Risk Management Consultancy (BRMC)––were killed by unidentified bike-borne criminals during the loot.

The three were carrying the cash from the Barh branch of PNB.

Police sources in Gaya said tht car-borne criminals overtook the vehicle carrying cash near village Baseri under the Bodh Gaya police station and fired shots before looting the cash which was being transferred from the PNB currency chest at Tekari Road to the Itawa Bazar branch of the bank. A bank employee and a guard were carrying the cash.

Car driver Chhote Lal received bullet injury in his thigh and is out of danger.

According to SSP (Gaya) Garima Malik soon after receiving information about the robbery, all possible exit routes were sealed.

A hot chase was made by a police party from Bodh Gaya which at one point had to pass the railway crossing just before a train was to arrive.

However, another police party led by Fatehpur SHO Lal Muni Dubey and assisted by the Cheetah unit of the special task force (STF) intercepted the fleeing robbers near Fatehpur roundabout, about 40km from the site of loot. All the five robbers were arrested about five kilometres from Jharkhand border and police seized three firearms and a brand new Swift Dzire car without number, which was allegedly stolen from Ranchi .

The arrested criminals were identified as Monti Kumar of Brahmpur under Barhara police station (Bhojpur), Amit Kumar and Ankit Kumar of Bhupatipur (Patna), Pikku Kumar of Sujatpur under Ghosi police station (Jehanabad) and Rajesh Kumar of Bhikhna Pahari locality of Patna.

Speaking about the Patna incident IG (Patna) Nayyar Hasnain Khan had a meeting with Nalanda SP Kumar Ashish and Sohsarai police where a similar incident had taken place on February 27. Two persons, including a private security guard, were also killed at Sohsarai.







comments powered by Disqus

traffic analytics