Grand Alliance announces five more candidates in Bihar

Patna, March 24: Bihar's opposition Grand Alliance on Sunday announced candidates for five more Lok Sabha constituencies in the state, taking its total to nine out of the total 40 seats.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal has announced its sitting MPs Shilesh Kumar (Bulo Mandal) and Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav will re-contest from the Bhagalpur and Banka seats, respectively.

The Congress has fielded Uday Singh alias Pappu Singh, who had switched over to it from the Bharatiya Janata Party two days ago, from Purnea, party legislator Jawed Alam from Kishanganj and sitting Nationalist Congress Party MP Tariq Anwar, who had rejoined the party recently, from Katihar.

Congress won Kishanganj in the 2014 polls but its sitting MP Maulana Asrarul Haque died a few months ago.

The Grand Alliance on last Friday announced a seat-sharing pact in Bihar under which the RJD will contest 20 seats and the Congress 9 while smaller parties, like Upendra Kushawaha's Rashtriya Lok Samata Party and others, have been allotted the remaining seats.


comments powered by Disqus


traffic analytics