Total Seats: 243

Parties in Election Fray: RJD, Congress, JD(U),BJP, LJP, CPI, CPM, CPI(ML), BSP, SP & Others

Poll tie- up

SDF(Secular Democratic Front)-

RJD-led alliance (RJD+Cong+CPM+NCP): The RJD is fighting on 175 seats

Congress on 51 seats

CPM on 11 seats

NCP on 8 seats


NDA alliance (JD-U+ BJP): - Comparatively, more cohesive alliance in which

Janata Dal(U) will contest 139 and

BJP 102 seats in the assembly polls.

The alliance has proposed the name of Nitish Kumar as next chief ministerial candidate.



LJP-led alliance (LJP+ CPI+Forwad Bloc+ RSP)):

The LJP is contesting on 203 seats,

the CPI on 35 seats,

the Forward Bloc and RSP would fight on 5 seats.


Parties sans any alliance: CPI-ML, (7 MLAs in the last polls)

Samajwadi Party ( won 4 seats in last polls)

Bahujan Samaj Party (won 2)

and the independents.